2019 up and running… THE PROGRAM

We are very pleased to introduce the  program for 2019. Commencing February 19 a new collection of studios and workshops are planned. Book now to secure your spot!

Term dates

Term 1 Tuesday 19 February – Saturday 13 April
Term 2 Tuesday 7 May – Saturday 29th June
Term 3 Tuesday 30th July – Saturday 21st September
Term 4 Tuesday 22 October May – Saturday 7th September

Proposed Intensive workshop dates

Landscape colour and light – Saturday 6-Sunday 7th April Portrait painting – Saturday 6 July – Monday 8 July
Landscape drawing – Saturday 28th -Sunday 29th September Figure drawing/painting – Saturday 12th -Sunday 13th October.

 Schedule of Course Offerings Term 1 & 2

  • Courses in Term 1 and 2 are suitable for beginners and experienced artists.
  • Painting will be in water-based oils and/or water colour.
  • Classes are geared to the individual and will include demonstrations by the tutor.
  • Illustration course outline and notes will be provided on commencement.
  • Term 1 Courses
    Focus on Drawing -8 weeks of weekly 3 hr tutored classes – cost for 8 weeks $400

Tutor: Tim Miller & guest tutor/s (tba)

Two classes will be on offer.
The Tuesday morning class will run from 9:30 – 12:30 commencing Tuesday 19 February.

The Saturday morning class will run from 10am – 1:00pm, commencing Saturday 23 February.

COURSE STRUCTURE

5 weeks: Drawing Still Life

This will use objects, casts and skeleton and will cover:

  • line
  • placement
  • proportion
  • direction
  • change of plane and form
  • visual perspective (1,2 and 3 point) and aerial perspectiveo foreshortening
  • properties of light
  • rendering
  • composition

3 weeks: Life Drawing from a model

Term 2 Courses

  • Focus on painting -8 weeks of weekly 3 hr tutored classes – cost for 8 weeks $400

Two classes will be on offer.
The Tuesday morning class will run from 9:30 – 12:30 commencing Tuesday 7 May.

The Saturday morning class will run from 10am – 1:00pm, commencing Saturday 11 May.

COURSE STRUCTURE

Week 1: Drawing for Still Life painting
Weeks 2-3: Still Life Painting
Using water-based oil and/or watercolours and will cover:

  • painting method
  • colour mixing
  • hue, value and chromao colour systems
  • seeing colour and light

Week 4: Drawing for Life Painting Week 5-8: Painting the Human FormWill cover:

  • composition
  • colour of the lighto colour and form

page2image7888656page2image5894672page2image5879696page2image9971248page2image7902800

Non –tutored life drawing sessions

The monthly Life Drawing non-tutored sessions are to be held on the first Saturday of each month from 2:00pm – 5:30pm , commencing Sat 2 February- $30/session

Intensive weekend workshops
Landscape Colour and Light workshop, Tim Miller, Rockley Studio, 6-7 April, $250 Portrait workshop, Sally Ryan, 6-8 July, $350
Landscape drawing, tutor TBC, 28-29 September $250
Figure Workshop, Tim Miller & guest tutors (TBA), 12-13 October, $250